Bad day

Today was a very bad day. It started quite normal. I went to bed at three o'clock AM, because I was finishing school webpage. I got up at 7:45 and turned on computer. Webpage worked as normal and everything was OK. Then it was time to me to go to school and I zipped everything in the folder "expandable-meni". Everything seemed ok. Then I closed Kate and logoff. Then I went to school. In the school I opened webpage from my home computer and it showed errors that php/functions was not found. WTF? I thought. Then I SSHed to home computer and cd-ed to expandable-meni where I did ls folder. Folder php didn't existed.

I have no idea how this has happened. I know that in computer world things don't just happen, but I don't have any explanation for this.

Then I searched bash history that I could found out if I had mistakenly deleted it. I found nothing. Php folder wasn't even in zipped file. I have file functions from 5. June but I have worked everyday from then on it. It is more than week of work almost thrown away.

When I put all pieces of this day together I found that php file had to exist before I zipped everything, because I have run phpdocu for documentation in folder. And after I zipped I had Kate still open and it would complain if a file would be changed or deleted and it didn't. In auth.log there was no logins from anybody else but me.

When I got at home I tried to get file back with foremost, but it found only some old files I have never seen before and parts of other files that were in php folder but not any part of functions.php. I have realized that maybe if I unmounted the partition when I was in the school maybe I could save the file. But I haven't thought of that then. 😦

And why no backup?

"Real men don't use backups, they post their stuff on a public ftp server and let the rest of the world make copies." – Linus TorvaldsI don't have public FTP but public HTTP ;). But from now on I would make backup for every important file in my system. Functions.php is lost but 2 things still bother me:

  • When?
  • How?

I don't have an answer on any of them. Maybe I have deleted it with my mind or something. Where is my tinfoil hat?

Leave a Reply

