Vista speech recognition

First I have read that Vista speech recogintion sucks. But the next day I read that the video which was circling around the internet was cut from a presentation in which a spokeman could then narrate the letter normaly in WordPad. Then I saw this video and I thought the speech recogintion must be really good I have to try this. So I started my second disk with Vista 64 Beta 2 on and started dictating and giving commands. SOme lines were really funny but overall recogition was really good and I am not a native english speaker. And I don’t like MS very much, but speech recogntition was really good. It is the only thing in Vista I was impressed. Because performance of the VIsta on at least my computer is very bad, it takes very long time to boot and, to start programs, I hope this is because it is Beta. Gentoo which is first OS on this computer boots very fast and is very responsive. And XGL works whitout glitches but Vista’s Aero is distorted sometimes, moving isn’t smooth, and I have Nvidia drivers on both systems. Maybe this is because Gentoo is 32 bit and Vista is 64 bit. Let’s wait for the final and what KDE 4 brings :).

Leave a Reply

